Healthy Honey Oatmeal Cookies

Get prepared for your exams with healthy and delicious oatmeal cookies!

The sunlight streams in as I parted the curtains. It was a beautiful day, but I felt that whenever the sky is pretty, there are tons of homework waiting for me. But sometimes (for example at this moment) my sense overrules my sensibility: when the weather is nice, I feel frustrated staying at home, when the weather is bad, I feel even worse doing homework. So honestly, there’s never a right weather for homework, but I know there is a right company: healthy oatmeal cookies.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

I love walking into baking shops with warmth from the oven and aroma of dairy. Everytime I heard someone is addicted to nicotine, I can always stand in his/her shoe. It is like craving food when you are stressed and when you are not stressed. But very often, the sugar in most cookies stimulates my sensory nerve of guilt. I can feel the refined instead of the real permeating through my vessels and into my cells. I can have some, but not too much. However, with honey oatmeal cookies, they are so real that stress is smoothed by honey and frown is rolled flat by oats.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

I have a music playlist called Not Too Loud. The songs range from pop to classical, from English to Cantonese. Many of my friends ask me for it when they are stressed, especially at this time closer and closer to midterms. With a call from my friend Cath, I carried to her house my playlist and my oats and my eggs and my honey and all the other ingredients she didn’t have, because I know she needed not only the melody but also the energy from real food.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

The only oats I eat is Quaker’s 100% Natural Whole Grain Old Fashioned Oats. I like it not because it is “old fashioned,” but because it is “100% Natural Whole Grain” with a stamp of Quaker Man’s loving smile. I love the taste of whole grain oats so much that I went on their website for oats recipes. The first one that caught my attention was the simplest Quaker’s Best Oatmeal Cookies. However, I didn’t find it the “best.” I looked over the ingredients, and was so disappointed to see “all-purpose flour” and “margarine” in the list of ingredients. I sent an email in my mind:

Dear Quaker Man,

Why would you give me a not-whole-grain recipe when you’re selling 100% Natural Whole Grain Old Fashioned Oats? And even though you are not a real person, please don’t put something artificial here.

Sincerely disappointed,

Kate

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

After a minute of recovery, I altered the recipe a little to make it healthier in a smaller serving size for just Cath and me.

So there, at her house, I prepared and I measured, she poured and she whisked, mixing all the freshness in, beating all the anxieties out. Bake it, munch it, and we were ready for midterms.


 

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Healthy Honey Oatmeal Cookies     [click here for a printer friendly version]

INGREDIENTS

  •  1 1/4 cups softened unsalted butter
  • 3/4 honey or maple syrup
  • 1 organic large egg, room temperature
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon fine grain sea salt
  • 3 cups of old-fashioned rolled oats
    – 1  1/2 ground for 30 seconds in a food processor or blender
    – 1  1/2 not blended
  • (optional) semi-sweet chocolate chips

 

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 375°F
  2. Pour butter and honey/syrup into a mixing bowl, and beat until creamy. Then, add egg and beat it well with the mixture
  3. Add vanilla extract, baking soda, baking powder, salt, mix well, and add oats (and/or chocolatechips)
  4. Use a big spoon to scoop the mixture onto the parchment paper
  5. BAKE! *8-9 minutes for a chewy cookie, 10-11 minutes for a crispy cookie*
  6. Remove cookies from the oven, and let them cool completely

 


 

Comment below if you’re also stressed and need to talk!

Subscribe for the latest whole food healthy recipe ☺

 

 

 

 


Assignment 4c

Leave a Reply

