Avocado Toast + Poached Egg

Having this recipe, you will never have to order avocado toast from the brunch menu!

Avocado has dominated my life since I moved from Taipei to Toronto for college. I don’t really know whether it’s because there isn’t many locally grown avocado in Taiwan, because I became more aware of healthy food, or because it’s simply the new thing.

In my opinion, it doesn’t have an appealing appearance: rough leathery skin and oily green flesh. I’m definitely not describing an elegant Berkin, but more like a moisty reptile. However to me, the taste of an avocado is a heavenly existence.

avocado-almonds

Ever since I noticed the existence of avocado, my eyes have had an automatic detection for a-v-o-c-a-d-o on the restaurant menus. Don’t think it’s cool. It’s like, when superman’s tired of flying, but he has to save the world; I can auto-detect avocado, but I have to save money (especially on something that can be homemade and delicious). I obviously did not save the world, but I started to realize the uncountable avocado toasts I’ve ordered from the brunch menus. So then I thought, WHY NOT MAKE IT MYSELF?

avocado-before

In the first year of university, I rode on a Whole Foods Market’s cart, juggled some avocado, knifed them in half, and smashed the flesh out. (No I’m not in the Creepy Clown Social Club).

But now I’m not a freshman anymore. I’ve levelled up.

Because I was a BBG participant wannabe, and I am currently follow the trend of trying healthy vegan food, Kayla Itsines was my goddess-past and Chef Chloe is my goddess-now.

To start my investigation for my not-so-boring-but-so-easy avocado toast, I went on Kayla’s blog and looked for her avocado toast recipe. She added lemon, a pinch of salt, a poached egg, and really boosted the flavour.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Then, I looked for Chef Chloe’s Avocado Toast Recipe, and  flew to by CHLOE in New York during my reading week to really do some work and not have some fun (but I actually had a lot fun exploring foods). The avocado toast was SPECTACULAR. I can still remember the crunchy sunflower seed, the beets, and the spices in my mouth. It was an avocado toast that I could eat for days, and divide the last bites into hundreds of tiny ant-bites. But I didn’t, because the thing about eating avocado toast is to stuff all the generous freshness into your mouth, swirl them around your tongue, enjoy the incredible flavours, swallow the bite, and feel the nutrition penetrates through your cells. But it lacked one important thing: POACHED EGG.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

In order to make the perfect avocado toast, I tested and incorporated the essential parts that Kayla provided, and cut out some uncommonly-found-at-home ingredients from Chef Chloe’s.

Since I’ve created this recipe for myself, I’ve never brunched out for avocado toast, but have stayed at my home sweet home.


avocado-from-the-top

Avocado Toast + Poached Egg     [click her for a printer friendly version]
(serves 2)

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 ripe avocados
  • 2 100% whole wheat bread
  • 2 organic large eggs
  • Crushed sunflower seeds or/and almonds
  • 1 pinch of sea salt
  • 1/2 lemon, juiced

* more or less, but don’t flood your avocado and wet your toast*

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Scoop out the avocados into a bowl, and smash them with a fork
    * how to cut: cut it lengthwise in half around the seed, slightly turn the two halves in opposite directions, and simply scoop out the pit with a spoon *
  1. Add lemon juice, salt, into the mashed avocado, and mix them well
  2. While poaching your egg, drizzle a little olive oil on the breads, and toast them until brown
    *lazy egg-poaching tip: (no vinegar or creating swirl needed)
    simply use a SMALL POT of boiling water, crack 2 or more eggs into the pot, so they won’t move around and distort the shape! Wait for about 3-4 minutes and put them on a paper towel to dry
  1. Spread the smashed avocado evenly or pile it up on your toasts, sprinkle the crushed almonds/sunflower seeds, and add on the poached eggs

Comment below if you like avo-cuddle!

Subscribe for the latest recipe 🙂

 

 

 

 


Assignment 5c

5 thoughts on “Avocado Toast + Poached Egg

  1. Hi Kate! 🙂 I like your little narrative about how you fell in love with avocado, and I especially love the images you include here. Looks so appetizing! It’s impressive how you try out different recipes from other bloggers, and then combine elements you like to make your own unique flavours. This post really makes me want to try out your recipes, and I look forward to more of them! #foodie xD

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

